About Pharo

Pharo is a mininal, elegant, pure, reflective object language (and fully open-source).

  • Yes in Pharo they are only objects! Nothing else.
  • Yes the complete syntax of Pharo fits on a postcard and
  • Yes we code in the debugger and Pharo has super cool tools that empower you and make you super efficient.


Pharo's goal is to deliver a clean, innovative, free and open-source immersive environment. Here is the to be revised Pharo vision document.

By providing a stable and small core system, excellent developing tools, and maintained releases, Pharo is an attractive platform to build and deploy mission critical applications.

Pharo fosters a healthy ecosystem of both private and commercial contributors who advance and maintain the core system and its external packages.

Pharo features

  • A dynamic, pure object-oriented programming language in the tradition of Smalltalk
  • An IDE (integrated development environment)
  • A huge library and set of external packages

Pharo and Business

The goal of Pharo is to sustain and grow business.

Pharo is open-source

Pharo is fully open-source project released under the MIT license.


For more information, do not hesitate to contact [email protected].

Pharo contributors

People around the world contribute to Pharo. (Do not forget to sign the license agreement)

Here are the names of those who directly contributed to the last release, in alphabetical order:

Jean-Baptiste ArnaudJean-Baptiste Arnaud
Philippe BackPhilippe Back
Clément BeraClément Bera
Alexandre BergelAlexandre Bergel
Torsten BergmannTorsten Bergmann
Usman BhattiUsman Bhatti
Vincent BlondeauVincent Blondeau
Noury BouraqadiNoury Bouraqadi
Johan BrichauJohan Brichau
Sven Van CaekenbergheSven Van Caekenberghe
Damien CassouDamien Cassou
Nicolas CellierNicolas Cellier
Guido ChariGuido Chari
Andrei ChisAndrei Chis
Dimitris ChloupisDimitris Chloupis
Bernardo ContrerasBernardo Contreras
Ben ComanBen Coman
Gabriel Omar CotelliGabriel Omar Cotelli
Jordi DelgadoJordi Delgado
Tommaso Del SassoTommaso Del Sasso
Christophe DemareyChristophe Demarey
Sean DeNigrisSean DeNigris
Marcus DenkerMarcus Denker
Martin DiasMartin Dias
Julien DelplanqueJulien Delplanque
Stephane DucasseStéphane Ducasse
Stephan EggermontStephan Eggermont
Pablo EstefoPablo Estefo
Luc FabresseLuc Fabresse
Johan FabryJohan Fabry
Cyril FerlicotCyril Ferlicot
Hilaire FernandesHilaire Fernandes
Nahuel GarbezzaNahuel Garbezza
Leo GassmanLeo Gassman
Lucas GiudiceLucas Giudice
Tudor GirbaTudor Girba
Thierry GoubierThierry Goubier
Jigyasa GroverJigyasa Grover
Norbert HartlNorbert Hartl
Dale HenrichsDale Henrichs
Pablo HerreroPablo Herrero
Nicolai HessNicolai Hess
Andre HoraAndre Hora
Alejandro InfanteAlejandro Infante
Ricardo JacasRicardo Jacas
Henrik Sperre JohansenHenrik Sperre Johansen
Denis KudryashovDenis Kudryashov
Pavel KrivanekPavel Krivanek
Juraj KubelkaJuraj Kubelka
Laurent LaffontLaurent Laffont
Jannik LavalJannik Laval
Max LeskeMax Leske
David LewisDavid Lewis
Diego LontDiego Lont
Esteban LorenzanoEsteban Lorenzano
Esteban MaringoloEsteban Maringolo
Stefan MarrStefan Marr
Mariano Martinez PeckMariano Martinez Peck
Roberto MinelliRoberto Minelli
Hernan Morales DurandHernan Morales Durand
Eliot MirandaEliot Miranda
Nicolas Papagna MaldonadoNicolas Papagna Maldonado
Henrik NergaardHenrik Nergaard
Tomohiro OdaTomohiro Oda
Nick PapoyliasNick Papoylias
Nicolas PasseriniNicolas Passerini
Alain PlantecAlain Plantec
Guillermo PolitoGuillermo Polito
Damien PolletDamien Pollet
Sergi ReynerSergi Reyner
Jochen RickJochen Rick
Markiyan RizunMarkiyan Rizun
Ronie SalgadoRonie Salgado
Camille TeruelCamille Teruel
Juan Pablo Sandoval AlcocerJuan Pablo Sandoval Alcocer
Samir SalehSamir Saleh
Frank SheararFrank Shearar
Igor StasenkoIgor Stasenko
Serge StinckwichSerge Stinckwich
Aliaksei SyrelAliaksei Syrel
Carlo TeixeiraCarlo Teixeira
Sebastian TleyeSebastian Tleye
Yuriy TymchukYuriy Tymchuk
Andres ValloudAndres Valloud
Jan VraniJan Vrani
Martin WalkMartin Walk
Hernan Wilkinson.Hernan Wilkinson

If your name is missing from the above list, send an email to [email protected] with a picture of yourself (PNG file, format 70x70 pixels).

Pharo previous contributors

Vanessa PeñaVanessa Peña
Nicolas PettonNicolas Petton
Benjamin Van RyseghemBenjamin Van Ryseghem
Fernando OliveroFernando Olivero
Gisela DecuzziGisela Decuzzi
Erwan DouailleErwan Douaille
Simon AllierSimon Allier

The board

Pharo has a board composed of Marcus Denker, Stephane Ducasse, Sven Van Caekenberghe, Norbert Hartl, Guille Polito and Esteban Lorenzano.

The role of the board is to make decisions if in the future the community can't decide on a course of action.